Since my project deals with mobile technology in Estonia, and I am currently in Seattle, I will have to call on my memory for this journal assignment.  I will also compare how I observe mobile technology making an impact here in Seattle on a daily basis.

            We will start with how mobile technology appears to the human eye aesthetically and in a functional sense.  One trait that I observe humorously, is the continual use of the “flip” phone.  You know, the phone that you have to flip open to use when making or answering a phone call.  This seems like a stupid feature to have on a phone that you may be in a rush to answer or use.  Not to mention that some of them slam shut and hang up if you bend the phone in the slightest.  The observation that made me realize how unnecessary this feature is on a phone is when I watched a woman in Starbucks scramble to answer a call, and in her haste as she flipped open her phone, she lost her grip on the device and it “flipped” out of her hand and into her coffee!  Needless to say, I have not thought highly of the “flip” phones ever since. 

            My own mobile phone is a simple, slick one piece phone that fits easily in my hand and can be answered or hung up by the touching of two, easy to find, color coded buttons.  The most important features of mobile phones need to be kept the simplest.  I hate using friends phones and having to stare at the damn device intently just to figure out how to begin a call. 

            Most of the phones that I observed in Estonia (and elsewhere in Europe), had loads of features that made me immediately think of my laptop computer, as well as perfectly sized screens.  The graphic capability of the phones must be higher than what I am used to, all of the menus were easy to read and were crisp and aesthetically pleasing. 

            It was hard to observe what people were truly doing on their phones in Estonia.  While walking with my friend in Tallinn (Estonia’s capitol city), I saw her typing into her phone.  I asked if she was texting a friend, and she replied that she was checking the bus schedule to see if we would make our bus on time.  During my trip she also checked movie times, looked at her bank account, and did numerous other activities I would need a computer to perform.  So when walking around Seattle and I see someone typing away on their phone, the chance that they are sending their friend a text message is probably accurate.  However, in Estonia, they could be doing a multitude of other things. 

